Medical Marijuana Age Requirement

medical marijuana age requirement

Marijuana for medical and recreational use is a topic of much debate in the United States. Some states have passed laws allowing marijuana for medical or recreational use for adults or minors while others still deem it illegal completely. The medical marijuana age requirement varies from state to state. Generally, any resident of a certain age may obtain a “MMJ Card” for a minor person in their care who needs medical marijuana. See below for the medical marijuana age requirement for each state:

Alabama
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Alaska
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Arizona
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Arkansas
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor that they have legal guardianship over.

California
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Colorado
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for up to five qualifying minors in their care.

Connecticut
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Delaware
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

District of Columbia
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Florida
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Georgia
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Hawaii
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Idaho
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Illinois
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Indiana
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Iowa
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Kansas
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Kentucky
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Louisiana
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Maine
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Maryland
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Massachusetts
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Michigan
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Minnesota
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Mississippi
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Missouri
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Montana
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Nebraska
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Nevada
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

New Hampshire
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for up to five qualifying minors in their care.

New Jersey
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care

New Mexico
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care

New York
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for up to five qualifying minors in their care.

North Carolina
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

North Dakota
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minors (under age 19) in their care.

Ohio
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Oklahoma
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Oregon
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Pennsylvania
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

Rhode Island
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for up to five qualifying minors in their care.

South Carolina
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

South Dakota
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Tennessee
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Texas
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Utah
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Vermont
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for one qualifying minor in their care at a time.

Virginia
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Washington
21 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for a qualifying minor in their care.

West Virginia
18 year old residents can get a “MMJ Card” for one qualifying minor in their care at a time

Wisconsin
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

Wyoming
Medical or recreational use is illegal to all ages.

The laws regarding medical marijuana are in constant debate. Marijuana may become legal in more and more states in the coming years. Depending on research and the experience of legal states, the medical marijuana age requirement may change as well.

If you have a minor in your care and live in Massachusetts or Rhode Island who has a medical condition where you feel they would benefit from Medical Marijuana please feel free to call our office.

774-517-5195

Medwell Health and Wellness Centers